Ask Dalia…

Hello All,

I find that since I am the wielder of #whoretips, I regularly get asked for my advice on situations of the dating/sexual relationship nature. Since I give these little nuggets of what I believe are wisdom, I thought I would start posting them here. I hope they are helpful or simply entertaining.

Also, if you have a question, please feel free to ask me here or email me dalialance@gmail.com. I would love to help you with your question if I can.

So… Here is the question:

“Is the ‘Not in the same Area Code/Zip Code rule‘ a real thing?”

Ah… There is an answer that the very naughty/playful part of me wants to give. I think I will start by explaining, for those that might not know, what this rule is.

The Area Code/Zip Code rules are, that you are not being unfaithful to your partner if you are in a different area code or zip code then they are at the time of sexual encounter.

It is very similar to the ‘What happens in Vegas’ rule. Which is one of my personal favorites.

However, that doesn’t get us actually any closer to an answer. 🙂

The answer, like most, is not that simple.

I have found that betrayal is something that usually cannot be healed in a relationship. When a bond of trust is broken, even if attempted to be healed, it is never even half as strong as it once was.

This is a conversation that you need to have with your playmate or partner in the beginning. Since I usually have playmates, I tell them up front that they are not the only one. I make sure they know that a one-and -only is not something they can or should expect from me.

However, if you are in a committed relationship, regardless of how many parties are in the committed relationship, you need to establish ground rules.

One of my very good friends, who is in a somewhat open relationship with his wife told me that they established the rule that if they find another person that they want to be with, they ask each other if it is ok for the act to take place before the act takes place. If the other says no, then that is the answer. Simple.

So, the rule is a rule if you and your partner agree to it. Again, simple.

xoxo

Dalia

Leave a Reply

