Ask Dalia…

Hello All,

I find that since I am the wielder of #whoretips, I regularly get asked for my advice on situations of the dating/sexual relationship nature. Since I give these little nuggets of what I believe are wisdom, I thought I would start posting them here. I hope they are helpful or simply entertaining.

Also, if you have a question, please feel free to ask me here or email me dalialance@gmail.com. I would love to help you with your question if I can.

So… Here is the question:

“I went out on a date with guy and although it wasn’t terrible we didn’t click, or at least I didn’t feel a spark. He has texted me everyday asking me things like “How are you today, beautiful?” and “When can I see you again?” I thought ignoring the texts was the best option. What should I do?.”

I would like to say that there is an easy answer… Actually, there is.

So, what to do, what to do. I know you may not like my answer, but it is simple.

Honesty is something all of us possess. So is courage. I know that may sound silly, but the truth is that we are usually more willing to “hope a problem goes ” then it is to actually deal with the human on the other side of the equation.

I  believe it is not fair, well maybe not fair, maybe I believe it what is right is to make sure you let a person know where they stand in relation to you. This is of course coupled with the knowledge that you don’t owe someone you just met anything.

So what do you do?

Tell them.

Yep. Tell the person where they stand. You can do it via the phone, email, dating site or text. Don’t leave a person wondering why you are not speaking back. Most likely if they reached out to you after the date, then even if you felt nothing, they felt something. So tell them you are not interested if you are not. You don’t have to be mean, but make sure you are clear about it.

Don’t tell them maybe some other time, or you are going through something, etc. Tell them you are not interested in them. After you do this then you are off the hook. You can ignore communication from them after that, of course unless you think you can be friends. Which can happen, but be careful skating that line.

You cannot predict what another person will do. If you barley know them, then you have less prediction. But you can control what YOU do and to paraphrase a useful fact, do unto others as you wish is done unto you.

Have courage, trust communication and even if they are mad or disappointed, heck even mean, know that you have done right thing for them and move on. You are looking for the right person and they are not it.

xoxo

Dalia

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

