Ask Dalia…

Hello All,

I find that since I am the wielder of #whoretips, I regularly get asked for my advice on situations of the dating/sexual relationship nature. Since I give these little nuggets of what I believe are wisdom, I thought I would start posting them here. I hope they are helpful or simply entertaining.

Also, if you have a question, please feel free to ask me here or email me dalialance@gmail.com. I would love to help you with your question if I can.

So… Here is the question:

“Should I have friends make the ’emergency call’ when out on a date and use that as an excuse to get out of that date?”

The age old “emergency call”,  I am actually surprised that anyone falls for this anymore actually. I think most people, in general, are very trusting at first until given a reason not to be be, and so, this is why it works.

The answer is not so black and white unfortunately.

I believe first and foremost, regardless is you are a guy or a girl, if you are meeting up with someone for the first time, someone, anyone, should have as many details as possible about your location. If you turn up missing or worse, then at least they have a lead.

My suggestion is minimally write all the details down on a note you stick to your fridge. Leaving clues is always good.

On the emergency call, that depends on the person you are with and your courage to not let yourself be in a bad situation. I say courage, because if you are walking away from a date or hook-up, there is a reason. If the person is going to be crazy mad or a stalker, it doesn’t matter what approach you take they are still going to do that.

You can set-up a checking in text to make sure you got to where you were going safely and that you are alive. I wouldn’t use this to remove yourself from a situation. If you don’t want to be there anymore… walk out.

If you just don’t see a spark or are not interested, TELL THEM!

There is nothing worse then the void of missing information as to where you stand. Let them get mad, upset or weird. You actually have all the control. You should use it.

Or if it is horrible, excuse yourself to the bathroom and leave. Contact them and tell them why you left so they are not left wondering. Getting angry emails or texts allow for ignoring them and most services have a blocking feature anyway.

So remember, dating and playmates is an adventure. Sometimes you find yourself in unpredictable situations. Remember always, you are in charge of what happens next!

xoxo

Dalia

Leave a Reply

